Foundation Meeting

The concept of a ‘European Academy of Sciences’ was raised at a meeting in Paris of the European Ministers of Science in 1985. The new body was named the Academia Europaea and its Foundation Meeting was held in Cambridge in September 1988 under the first President, Arnold Burgen. The first Plenary Meeting was held in London in June 1989, by which time there were 627 members.

PC Emmer, L Walloe, C Ferrini, R Elliott and H Maurerin AEKH office

Today, 25 years later, the Academy has over 2300 members from thirty-five European countries and eight non-European countries. The membership includes leading experts from the physical sciences and technology, biological sciences and medicine, mathematics, letters and humanities, social and cognitive sciences, economics and law.