The headquarters of the Academia Europaea are located within the Senate House, University of London.

The Academia Europaea was founded in 1988 as an international, nongovernmental, not-for-profit association of individual scientists and scholars from all disciplines, who are experts and leaders in their own subject areas as recognised by their peers. The Academy is pan-European, with almost 3470 elected members drawn from the whole European continent and eight non-European countries, grouped into 22 Academic Sections. It recognises genuine international excellence in individual scholarship and supports the culture of European research through dialogue and collaboration. The AE aims at providing a truly pan-European multidisciplinary academic dimension by filling the gaps between nationally recognised academic excellence and the excellence of learned and specialist societies and organisations.

What makes the AE different?

The AE is unique and stands out as the only genuine Academy in Europe that draws scholars from the entire continent, and all learning traditions participate on equal terms. Thus, it represents an assemblage of expertise that crosses all disciplinary and cultural boundaries, capable of responding to issues of international concern. Our membership is uniquely placed to provide a truly representative, authoritative and independent perspective to all organisations that value such an approach. Most bodies involved in similar activities on a European level are dependent upon national governments and government-controlled sources of finance and therefore tend to be influenced by national interests. The complete independence of the Academia Europaea means that we remain distinct from narrow national interests; we are impartial observers and commentators on the whole European science and scholarship scene, able to draw upon the broad cultural experiences of our membership from all corners of the continent. This is and remains the unique perspective of the Academia Europaea.