Hypatia Prize Logo peq RD 15_01_2020


The Barcelona Hypatia European Science Prize is part of the “Barcelona Ciutat de Ciència”(Barcelona City of Science) Programme, which reflects the commitment of the Barcelona to science and aims, in the last instance, to project the city as a European capital of research and innovation towards its own citizens.

This Prize (commemorative plaque and 30,000€) is awarded by the Barcelona City Council in collaboration with the Academia Europaea (Academia Europaea-Barcelona Knowledge Hub), an international, non-governmental and non-profit association based in London and comprised of more than 4000 scientists and academics of the highest level, who promote research, learning, and education in all areas of knowledge.

Since the year 2013, the city of Barcelona has been home to a branch of the AcademiaEuropaea known as the Barcelona Knowledge Hub (AE-BKH), which serves as the main base of the AE in southern Europe and the Mediterranean region.

This prize seeks to boost the scientific knowledge and research in all areas of human knowledge, from experimental sciences and technology to the various social sciences and humanities, as reflected in the current twenty-two Sections of the AE and in the different areas of activity of the European Research Council (ERC).