Hypatia Prize Logo peq RD 15_01_2020

Call for Nominations and Nomination Form for the


awarded by the Barcelona City Council in collaboration with the Academia Europaea-Barcelona Knowledge Hub


Updated July 01, 2020

Call for Nominations

The Academia Europaea-Barcelona Knowledge Hub (AE-BKH) is pleased to announce the Call for Nominations for the second edition of the Barcelona Hypatia European Science Prize, awarded by the Barcelona City Council in collaboration with the AE-BKH.

This Prize, in the amount of 30,000 euros, recognises an outstanding researcher who has achieved a career of excellence at the highest international level in Europe and has made a significant contribution toward different fields of knowledge, as well as a positive impact on society.

The second edition of the Prize will recognise a research career focused on the Life and Health Sciences (LHS), including other related sciences and technologies giving support to LHS, such as biochemistry, bioengineering, etc.

Throughout the terms and conditions of the Prize, the words science, scientist, and researcher refer to all areas of human knowledge, from experimental sciences and technology to the various social sciences and humanities. The name of the Prize, Hypatia, gives homage to Hypatia of Alexandria (c. 355-415), a woman philosopher and scientist who successfully bridged and disseminated all scholarly disciplines known during her time and who, for this same reason, was assassinated by the forces of ignorance and fanaticism.

Criteria and procedures for the Prize are as follows:

  • Documents and deadlines: The call for nominations is open from December 31, 2019, until July 31, 2020. (The original deadline of March 31, 2020, was exceptionally extended due to COVID-19 and the corresponding state of alarm decreed in Spain, suspending administrative deadlines). Nominations must be sent using the Nomination Form (LINK) to barcelona@acadeuro.org. A nomination is not considered delivered until the AE-BKH has sent the Nominator an e-mail confirming receipt. No nominations will be accepted past the final deadline of July 31, 2020.
  • Candidates and Nominators: Candidates for the Prize must be nominated by a Member of the Academia Europaea (MAE ) (Nominator 1), from any Section, and must have the support of an additional MAE (Nominator 2), also from any Section . Nominator 1 can propose only one Candidate. The two nominating MAEs must be from different countries. Although nominators must be MAEs, the Candidate does NOT have to be a MAE, nor a native of a European country, but she/he must have developed her/his career mostly in Europe.
  • Areas of knowledge: The Prize will follow a three-year cycle and will rotate each year among three major areas of knowledge: a) Science and Technology, b) Life and Health Sciences, c) Humanities and Social sciences, as reflected in the current sections of the AE and in the different areas of the European Research Council (ERC). The second edition of the Prize will recognise a research career focused on Life and Health Sciences (LHS) and other scientific and technological fields related to LHS.
  • Jury: The Prize winner will be selected by an International Jury during 2020. The Jury will consist of five members: two designated by Academia Europaea, two by the Barcelona City Council, and one, who will serve as president of the Jury, appointed jointly by Academia Europaea and by the Barcelona City Council. At least two members of the Jury will be women.
  • Selection: The Prize winner will be selected: for her/his research activities in Europe, on the bases of experience, career path and excellence; for the highest international level of her/his career and for the return it has generated to society, improving the quality of life of people; and for the impact on society and contribution toward different fields of knowledge that her/his career has made. At least one of the Prize winners in each three-year period will preferably be a woman. The Prize may be declared void by the Jury if deemed necessary.
  • Notification: The proposed winner will be notified personally by the AE-BKH after the meeting of the Jury of the Prize (held either on-line or in person, depending on the circumstances).
  • Award ceremony: The Barcelona City Council, with the approval of the President of the Barcelona Municipal Institute of Culture, will publish the decision of the Jury and will organise an award ceremony on a date to be announced, before December 31, 2020. The Prize will consist of a commemorative plaque and a monetary award of 30,000 euros.
  • Prize lecture: The Prize winner will be invited to deliver a lecture on her/his research career, during the aforementioned award ceremony. Details of the event, including the date, time and place, will be announced by the AE-BKH on its website.
  • Disclosure: Due to the extraordinary situation worldwide in response to COVID-19, the aforementioned dates may suffer slight modifications. Any changes will be announced with sufficient advance warning on the AE-BKH website and, if deemed necessary, by personally notifying participants. The award ceremony and prize lecture, as well as jury deliberations, may be held on-line, as required by the circumstances.